sábado, 6 de noviembre de 2010

Roomful Of Blues - That's Right!

That's Right

Seventeen albums into a career that dates back to 1967, Rhode Island's most famous musical export makes its Alligator Records debut with 14 songs that show this longstanding outfit has far from worn out its welcome. THAT'S RIGHT! finds the band fronted by new singer/harpist Mark DuFresne, who immediately dives right into the title cut, a slam-bang reading of a Chris Powell-penned R&B nugget, pumped up by the band's collective shouted harmonies and swinging sax solos of Mark Earley and Rich Lataille. From here it's off to the races with a set of music that'll whet the appetite of swing fans looking to cut a serious rug. Among the many delights, a bouncy romp through Big Joe Turner's "Lipstick, Powder and Paint" defies any urges to bop in place, while T-Bone Walker's "I Know Your Wig Is Gone" is delivered as a sly strut, and a version of Smiley Lewis's "Shame, Shame, Shame" wails in all the right places. Equally impressive is the instrumental take on Arthur Prysock's "2 Point 8" that really allows the band to rock and roll as they confidently chug along.

Mark DuFresne - Vocals, Harmonica
Chris Vachon - Guitar
Rich Lataille - Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Mark Earley - Tenor Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Bob Enos - Trumpet
Mark Stevens - Piano,Hammond b-3 Organ
Jason Corbiere - Drums,Percussion

1. That's Right!
2. We Can't Make It
3. Shame, Shame, Shame
4. How Long Will It Last
5. You're Driving Me Crazy
6. Ocean of Tears
7. 2 Point 8
8. I Know Your Wig Is Gone
9. I'll Keep on Trying
10. Lipstick, Powder and Paint
11. I'm Tryin'
12. Tennessee Woman
13. I Just Got to Know
14. Stranger Blues


No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario