viernes, 31 de diciembre de 2010

Sonny Moorman Group - Live As Hell

Live As Hell

Butler County’s hard-working bluesman Sonny Moorman celebrates the next chapter of his career on Friday, Jan. 23, with the release of “Live as Hell,” a CD with 14 new recordings — live, of course.
Released by the Macon, Ga.,-based Atlas records, the set was co-produced by Moorman and noted producer-engineer-mixer Erwin Musper whose diverse credits include working with such artists as Van Halen, David Bowie, Elton John, Jeff Beck, Mick Jagger and Yngwie Malmsteen.
The recordings were originally made for a live DVD project, Moorman said, but securing the rights to the cover material proved too expensive and laborious, so Moorman chose a selection of the sessions’ material for this audio disc.
“I wanted a CD that would have songs we’ve never released before, but songs that go over well when we play live,” he said. “I didn’t want people saying that we’re just recycling songs that were on my previous albums.”
So he album contains a blend of blues and rock classics including “Key to the Highway,” “Rattlesnake Shake,” “Cincinnati Jail,” “Highway 61 Revisited,” “Wham” and “Oh Well.” “Even though they are cover tunes, they’re not things that have been done to death,” he said.
Fans may notice a lack of original material. But Moorman said that they took the original songs recorded at the sessions with the video and posted them on where fans can watch for free (see below).
Moorman was the runner-up at the 2007 International Blues Challenge in Memphis, Blues Festival Guides’s 2008 Blues Artist on the Rise and has garnered numerous other awards and accolades in recent years.

1 - Chitlins Con Carne
2 - Highway 61 Revisited
3 - Everybody's Blues
4 - Tired of Trying
5 - Whiter Shade Of Pale
6 - Wham
7 - If You Have To Know
8 - Cincinnati Jail
9 - Harlem Nocturne
10 - Key To The Highway
11 - Early In The Morning
12 - Rattlesnake Shake
13 - Green Manalishi
14 - Oh Well

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario