sábado, 26 de junio de 2010

Floyd McDaniel - Let Your Hair Down!

Floyd McDaniel & The Blues Swingers
Let Your Hair Down

Floyd McDaniel was 78 when, in 1994, he recorded Let Your Hair Down! for the Chicago-based Delmark. Through the years, the singer/guitarist had been the type of artist who had one foot in pre-bebop jazz and one in urban blues—and that approach continues to serve him nicely on this CD. McDaniel's credentials as a jump blues shouter are illustrated by inspired versions of Louis Jordan's "Caldonia," T-Bone Walker's "Blue Mood" and Roy Milton's "R.M. Blues," while his talents as a jazz singer are evident on Duke Ellington's "It Don't Mean That Thing" and Billie Holiday's "God Bless The Child." On this album, McDaniel leads a cohesive, swinging octet known as the Blues Swingers, which consists of a hard-swinging rhythm section and four horn players, including trumpeter Mike McLaughlin, tenor saxophonist Dave Clark, alto saxophonist Paul Mundy and baritone saxophonist/clarinetist Martin "Van" Kelly. Let Your Hair Down! would be among McDaniel's last recordings; the veteran artist died the following year.

1. Raggedy Ride
2. Blue Mood
3. Mary Jo
4. Strange Things Happening
5. It Don't Mean A Thing
6. I Want A Little Girl
7. St. Louis Blues
8. God Bless The Child
9. Sent For You Yesterday
10. R.M. Blues
11. Christopher Columbus
12. West Side Baby
13. Beale Street Baby
14. Let Your Hair Down
15. Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out
16. Why's Life Got To Be This Way
17. Caldonia

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario