jueves, 6 de enero de 2011

Sunnyland Slim - Be Careful How You Vote

Be Careful How You Vote

This CD reissues a variety of recordings cut by the veteran blues pianist/vocalist Sunnyland Slim during 1981-83 for his private label Airway Records. In his mid-70s at the time, Slim's energetic vocals and powerful piano playing belie his age. As is typical of the pioneer Chicago bluesman, he allocated plenty of solo space to his sidemen (which include Hubert Sumlin, Eddie Taylor, Lurrie Bell or Magic Slim on guitar) although there was never any doubt about who was in control. The intelligent lyrics, high musicianship, mood variation (including two excellent instrumentals) and spirited playing make this a highly enjoyable and recommeded date despite the LP-length playing time.

1 You Can't Have It All
2 Workin' Two Jobs
3 Have a Good Day Now
4 Chicago Jump
5 Past Life
6 Be Careful How You Vote
7 Johnson Machine Gun
8 Speak Once and Think Twice
9 Midnight Jump
10 Patience Like Job

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario